Two Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center faculty – Bettina Beech, Ph.D., professor of social sciences and health policy, and Dr. Amy McMichael, professor of dermatology, have been accepted into the Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine Program (ELAM), a training program for women in medicine. The program’s mission is to increase the number of women in leadership positions at academic health centers and their success rate in attaining and remaining in these positions.


Additionally, Dr. Ryan Stone, an instructor in the department of obstetrics and gynecology and a fellow in maternal fetal medicine, and Dr. Jim Rose, interim chair of the department of obstetrics and gynecology, received honors at the 58th annual meeting of the Society for Gynecologic Investigation. Rose received the 2011 Frederick Naftolin Award for Mentorship, which recognizes significant contributions to training and career development of society members working in the field of reproductive and women’s health. Stone earned an award for one of the top presentations by a fellow in training at the March 16-19 meeting. His winning presentation and poster was titled “Gender Related Effects of Prenatal Steroid Exposure on Renal Angiotensin-Converting Enzyme 2 in Fetal Programmed Hypertension.”

A group of faculty and research fellows from Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center also received the 2011 Best Poster Overall award at the eighth annual American Psychosocial Oncology Society (APOS) conference. The award winning poster, titled “Health Related Quality of Life, Depressive Symptoms and Distress Before and After Hematopoietic Cell Transplantation,” was created by Richard McQuellon, Ph.D., and Ken Zamkoff, department of hematology and oncology; Greg Russell, director of the public health sciences division; Drs. David Hurd, Denise Levitan, and Seema Naik of internal medicine; and Brendan McQuellon, Cassie Campbell, Katie Duckworth and Jen Sommer.


Additionally, Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center volunteer Charity Byrum has received the 2011 Forsyth County Governor’s award for Outstanding Volunteer Service in the student volunteer category. To date, she has contributed more than 575 hours of volunteer service and has participated in the Volunteen program for four summers.


To learn more, visit